Sonntag, 11. Mai 2008
It's the loneliness that's the killer
You should try and read the stuff by people who've killed themselves! We started with Virginia Woolf, and I only read like two pages of this book about a lighthouse, but I read enough to know why she killed herself: She killed herself because she couldn't make herself understood [...]
And she had some bad luck too, if you think about it, because in the old days anyone could get a book published because there wasn't so much competition. So you could march into a publisher's office and go, you know, I want this published, and they'd go, Oh, ok, then. Whereas now they'd go, No dear, go away, no one will understand you. Try Pilates or salsa dancing instead.


Nick Hornby, A long way down

... comment

 
Try Pilates or salsa dancing instead.

I will bear it in my mind.

... link  


... comment